The Quest For More Blood

Standard

My body had a revolution

And soon I will be dead

It started in the heart

And moved up to my head

 

A cancer it was

Greedy and contagious

Even though, in the end

 

It was not truly advantageous

 

But the heart was in awe

For all the blood that it saw

And wanted to keep

Just a little bit more

 

So it typed up a statement

In a bold typeface

Taking up the whole sheet of paper

Not leaving any space:

 

In light of this surplus

Of blood passing through

Here is an invoice

With a greater amount due

But please, do not worry

These changes won’t really affect you

 

The body, of course

Was taken by surprise

And  feared for its

Inevitable demise

Yet the heart replied

With a compelling argument

And arranged for an unprecedented compromise

It would grow to about

Ten times its size

 

And it grew and it swallowed

All of the neighboring tissues

Yet none had time to protest

This misuse

 

So you see it started at the core

And it spread from the chest

Down to the floor

Up to the top of the head

Always wanting more

 

Every cell for itself

No time for the whole

Forgetting who started this

Or how this got out of control

 

Competition, thus

It had inspired

And in meanwhile, every cell

Was overworked

And tired

 

But after some time

They had had enough

And began to employ

Those most rugged and tough

 

One by one

Their numbers grew

Poised for the order

To execute this coup

 

‘Til finally

The word was spoken

And all out war

In this body had broken

 

And now I’m dying

Of a heart attacked

And if I only knew who was responsible

I’d surely have him sacked

 

But as I have no true recourse

I suppose, this body

I must divorce

 

Goodbye dear body

Once selfless and strong

I pray others don’t follow

Where you went wrong

About ☤ T.S. Vandenberg

I am nothing if not my mind. My words are a reflection of my mind. Within them, I am eternal. Without them, I am lost eternally. As you continue to read, a convergence of minds begins to takes place. My mind to your mind. My thoughts to your thoughts. Within you, I may linger. Without you, I am exhibited.

What are your thoughts?

